Chicago Tribune spotlights BLACKENING OF FLESH reading event

Posted in News on July 22, 2016 by Christian

Last month, I visited the Summit of Uptown in Park Ridge to read from THE BLACKENING OF FLESH and talk about the connections between the book and the city’s past during their regular book club gathering, and somehow, the Chicago Tribune got wind of it:

12366632_10153770990927389_522339098_n

The past won’t stay buried.

A regular activity on the calendar, the Summit of Uptown Book Club provides a thought-provoking interlude for people who live there as well as like-minded people from the community who are looking for a place to explore the world of books. 

Recently that world came alive in a whole new way when Christian A. Larsen came to talk to the group about his latest novel, THE BLACKENING OF FLESH, published by Post Mortem Press. Explaining how he gets his ideas, Larsen said, “I was in between projects and started reading up on crime in my hometown, Park Ridge, which has always been a very safe place. When I discovered an actual crime-a murder/suicide-that happened the year I was born, that became the germ for BLACKENING. The book explores the notion of right and wrong, and it kind of turns it on its head. In broad terms: what if the good guy was the bad guy, or vice versa? History doesn’t always get it right,” said Larsen. “Plus, throw in some ghosts and some Prohibition-era gangsters, because who doesn’t like those?”

Read the rest of the article here, which doesn’t tell the whole story. Before my portion of the program, the book club discussed the various pros and cons of Scott Turow’s ORDINARY HEROES, which everyone seemed to agree was too ‘racy’. That being the case, I wasn’t sure how they would accept me and my work.

But they were great. I’d like to say ‘thank you’ to the Summit of Uptown for having me, and to the book club, especially for making me feel so welcome. Up next, I’ll be at Mighty Con in Milwaukee. The pop culture convention visits American Serb Hall at 5101 West Oklahoma Ave from 10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m this Sunday.

Christian A. Larsen is the author of the novels LOSING TOUCH and THE BLACKENING OF FLESHnow available from Post Mortem Press.

Make geek & horror culture finds in Milwaukee on Sunday

Posted in News on July 18, 2016 by Christian

MightyCon returns to American Serb Hall in Milwaukee this Sunday, and this time … we’re taking over the entire building. We shared the space with another event in February, but this Sunday, it’s wall-to-wall books and movies, pop culture kitsch and clothes, puh-lenty of toys, gaming, and cosplay, and of course, lots and lots of current and classic comic books at convention pricing.

I’ll be there, signing my ghosts-and-gangsters novel, THE BLACKENING OF FLESH, and my mid-life crisis/man-starts-walking-through-walls novel, LOSING TOUCH. I’ll have copies of Michael Bailey’s Stoker-nominated science-fiction/horror anthology, QUALIA NOUS on hand, too. Stephen King has a story in the TOC, and there’s one by me, even. I’m in pretty nice company, there, and I’m not just talking about Stephen King.

Speaking of good company, I’ll be sitting with Christine Verstraete, author of the upcoming LIZZIE BORDEN, ZOMBIE HUNTER, due September 13 from Imajin Books. Verstraete will be signing copies of her first zombie novel, GIRL Z: MY LIFE AS A TEENAGE ZOMBIE, winner of the 2014 Lovey Award for “best paranormal or sci-fi novel”, as well as other goodies, horrific and otherwise.

the-crow-sm-web

Original U.S. Half Subway Poster

THE CROW creator James O’Barr will also be signing his work. THE CROW was first released in 1988 as comic series about a man who comes back from the dead to seek revenge on the gang who killed his fiancée. The story was adapted to screen in 1994 with Brandon Lee playing the titular character. The movie, while critically-acclaimed, is infamous for Lee’s on-set death, caused by a defective blank fired during a scripted gunfight.

Jason R. Davis, author of the creature horror novels, HATCHED and CAUGHT IN THE WEB, will also be signing copies. Davis is also the editor of the anthologies DEADHEAD MILES and  LOST IN THE WITCHING HOUR, a collection of ghost stories in the tradition of Edgar Allan Poe or Sheridan Le Fanu, but updated for the 21st Century. Davis, who founded The Chicago Horror Film Festival, also hosts a monthly podcast called “Shriek Speak”.

Dawn Napier is the author of BLACK BELLS, the story of a woman who has to face the incarnation of her childhood fears in order to save her daughter, who’s gone missing. I bring this up because Napier will be there on Sunday. You might also know her from her THE MANY KINGDOMS fantasy series (DARK RANGER; A FIRE OF THORNS; and WORLD OF DRAGONS, WORLDS OF MIST), so if you’re there on Sunday, she’s got something for you.

It’s the return of Mighty Con to Milwaukee, happening Sunday from 10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at American Serb Hall, 5101 West Oklahoma Ave. Just $5 gets you in (children 12 and under are free) and every attendee gets a free comic at the door.

Christian A. Larsen is the author of the novels LOSING TOUCH and THE BLACKENING OF FLESHnow available from Post Mortem Press.

Read my interview at THE LIBRARY OF TERROR

Posted in News on July 14, 2016 by Christian

Get a load of this … Rondo Hatton Award©-winning writer Justin Hamelin made me the inaugural interview at THE LIBRARY OF TERROR, part of TOM HOLLAND’S TERROR TIME, and boy he got me talking, man…

Today, I have the pleasure of featuring the pride of the Midwest, Mr. Chris Larsen, as the first interview here in The Library. Larsen has an eclectic resume that includes radio host, high school teacher and author. When he isn’t writing, he’s enjoying Guns N Roses reunion concerts and celebrating the world of weird.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present Chris Larsen…

LIBRARY OF TERROR: Following a distinguished career in radio, you really tackled writing head on. Why the career change?

95 WIIL RockCHRIS LARSEN: That’s the first time anyone has referred to me or anything I’ve done as “distinguished”, so thank you! I got my first job in radio at WEFT-FM when I was a sophomore at the University of Illinois in Champaign and bounced around some Central Illinois stations, before producing for Steve Cochran (now mornings at WGN-AM). After that, I hosted evenings at 95 WIIL ROCK until 2009, at which point I left to become a high school English teacher.

I was writing all this time, but I was just playing at it. Sort of the, “wouldn’t it be cool if I wrote a book?” sort of thing. The funny thing is, aside from a few shorts in high school and college, and a trunk novel I finished when I was 25, I never finished anything, and writing was a really irregular thing. It’s like going on vacation somewhere and saying you lived there. I was a pretender. I wasn’t really a writer until I started getting ready to teach. Then it was short stories, a new one about once a week…

Read the rest of the interview by clicking here. Justin Hamelin won the 2016 Rondo Hatton Award© for “Best Article” with ‘Remembering Sir Christopher Lee’ for RAVENOUS MONSTER. Before founding TERROR TIME, Tom Holland wrote and directed CHILD’S PLAY, FRIGHT NIGHT and STEPHEN KING’S THINNER.

Christian A. Larsen is the author of the novels LOSING TOUCH and THE BLACKENING OF FLESHnow available from Post Mortem Press.

“Bast” part of THE BEST OF THE HORROR ZINE: THE EARLY YEARS

Posted in News on July 12, 2016 by Christian

THE HORROR ZINE has released a ‘best of’ anthology featuring stories from it’s first four releases, and “Bast”, my first noteworthy short story placement in WHAT FEARS BECOME, is among the stories selected for publication in this face-meltingly terrifying anthology:

51A0SQuIB3L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Now available at Amazon.com.

THE BEST OF THE HORROR ZINE: THE EARLY YEARS features stories from AND NOW THE NIGHTMARE BEGINS, TWICE THE TERROR, WHAT FEARS BECOME and A FEAST OF FRIGHTS, some of which are not now available for Kindle.

Here’s the roster of hits, handpicked by editor Jeani Rector:

And of course, because it’s from THE HORROR ZINE, you’re going to get a ton of creepy poetry and visceral artwork with the price of admission. If you’ve never read THE HORROR ZINE or any of it’s anthologies, THE BEST OF THE HORROR ZINE: THE EARLY YEARS is the perfect primer. Pick it up today at Amazon.com.

Christian A. Larsen is the author of the novels LOSING TOUCH and THE BLACKENING OF FLESHnow available from Post Mortem Press.

THE BLACKENING OF FLESH and LOSING TOUCH hit France

Posted in Observations & Musings on July 9, 2016 by Christian

THE BLACKENING OF FLESH and LOSING TOUCH continue to have the time of their lives without me, having chunnelled from England to France and made their way to the Ville de Lumière to see the sights:

welcometoparis

Hey, look … their welcome sign speaks American!

lourve

Great works of art within and without. (I didn’t do the covers, so I can brag on them all I want.)

theseusminotaur

Looks like Theseus’s dong is about to get the clapperboard treatment.

More Paris to come. Meantime, I’m going to order up a plate of french fries and pretend I’m there…

Christian A. Larsen is the author of the novels LOSING TOUCH and THE BLACKENING OF FLESHnow available from Post Mortem Press.

Last day in London for LT & TBOF

Posted in Observations & Musings on July 8, 2016 by Christian

That’s a wrap, at least for the London leg of the LOSING TOUCH and THE BLACKENING OF FLESH book tour, which I am not a part of–but my books are. And there they are yukking it up overseas, practically rubbing it in my face.

allhallowslane

Seems like an appropriate lane.

hungdrawnquartered

Seems like an appropriate building.

buckinghampalace

Q: Do you have Prince Albert in a can? A: No, sir. He’s been dead since 1861.

Tomorrow, it’s on to Paris, where they love Prince Albert jokes, but only if they’re told by Jerry Lewis.

Christian A. Larsen is the author of the novels LOSING TOUCH and THE BLACKENING OF FLESHnow available from Post Mortem Press.

Big Ben, bridges, and books

Posted in Observations & Musings on July 7, 2016 by Christian

Most authors I know worry about people pirating their books. Like, ebooks. But someone tried to steal LOSING TOUCH yesterday right on the streets of London. In broad daylight. In front of God and everybody. He was also going for a cellphone, but got away with neither.

Bollox, I say! Bollox, indeed! Still, it was a small price to pay for these sights:

BigBen

Big Ben, a.k.a. “Old Clocky”

LondonBridge

Look, it’s some bridge … and it’s staying up!

guardhouse

A laconic bunch, these guys.

victoriamemorial

Nothing like fanning yourself with books at the Victoria Memorial.

SherlockPub

Whatever you do, don’t ask for a shot of seven percent solution.

westminsterabbey

The Great Sept of Baelor.

That’s a whole lotta of sightseein’, boy howdy. And there’s more to come. Who knows what kind of adventures LOSING TOUCH and THE BLACKENING OF FLESH might get into next?  I just hope they hang onto their cellphones.

Christian A. Larsen is the author of the novels LOSING TOUCH and THE BLACKENING OF FLESHnow available from Post Mortem Press.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 614 other followers