Make geek & horror culture finds in Milwaukee on Sunday

MightyCon returns to American Serb Hall in Milwaukee this Sunday, and this time … we’re taking over the entire building. We shared the space with another event in February, but this Sunday, it’s wall-to-wall books and movies, pop culture kitsch and clothes, puh-lenty of toys, gaming, and cosplay, and of course, lots and lots of current and classic comic books at convention pricing.

I’ll be there, signing my ghosts-and-gangsters novel, THE BLACKENING OF FLESH, and my mid-life crisis/man-starts-walking-through-walls novel, LOSING TOUCH. I’ll have copies of Michael Bailey’s Stoker-nominated science-fiction/horror anthology, QUALIA NOUS on hand, too. Stephen King has a story in the TOC, and there’s one by me, even. I’m in pretty nice company, there, and I’m not just talking about Stephen King.

Speaking of good company, I’ll be sitting with Christine Verstraete, author of the upcoming LIZZIE BORDEN, ZOMBIE HUNTER, due September 13 from Imajin Books. Verstraete will be signing copies of her first zombie novel, GIRL Z: MY LIFE AS A TEENAGE ZOMBIE, winner of the 2014 Lovey Award for “best paranormal or sci-fi novel”, as well as other goodies, horrific and otherwise.

the-crow-sm-web

Original U.S. Half Subway Poster

THE CROW creator James O’Barr will also be signing his work. THE CROW was first released in 1988 as comic series about a man who comes back from the dead to seek revenge on the gang who killed his fiancée. The story was adapted to screen in 1994 with Brandon Lee playing the titular character. The movie, while critically-acclaimed, is infamous for Lee’s on-set death, caused by a defective blank fired during a scripted gunfight.

Jason R. Davis, author of the creature horror novels, HATCHED and CAUGHT IN THE WEB, will also be signing copies. Davis is also the editor of the anthologies DEADHEAD MILES and  LOST IN THE WITCHING HOUR, a collection of ghost stories in the tradition of Edgar Allan Poe or Sheridan Le Fanu, but updated for the 21st Century. Davis, who founded The Chicago Horror Film Festival, also hosts a monthly podcast called “Shriek Speak”.

Dawn Napier is the author of BLACK BELLS, the story of a woman who has to face the incarnation of her childhood fears in order to save her daughter, who’s gone missing. I bring this up because Napier will be there on Sunday. You might also know her from her THE MANY KINGDOMS fantasy series (DARK RANGER; A FIRE OF THORNS; and WORLD OF DRAGONS, WORLDS OF MIST), so if you’re there on Sunday, she’s got something for you.

It’s the return of Mighty Con to Milwaukee, happening Sunday from 10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at American Serb Hall, 5101 West Oklahoma Ave. Just $5 gets you in (children 12 and under are free) and every attendee gets a free comic at the door.

Christian A. Larsen is the author of the novels LOSING TOUCH and THE BLACKENING OF FLESHnow available from Post Mortem Press.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: